Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

How to calculate the attenuation of free space?

The Free Space Attenuation (FSA) corresponds to the weakening suffered by a radio signal during its transmission power in the air.

It is calculated as follows:

  • FSA = 32,44 + 20*log(F) + 20*log(d)
  • FSA is expressed in dB, F in MHz & d in km
 

Difference between dBm & dB?

DBm is the unit of absolute power (0dBm = 1mW), while dB expresses a relationship between two powers: for example we can say that the power amplifier is 47dBm (ie 50W), which is an absolute value, whereas if we speak of its gain which is 20 dB for example, this corresponds to a ratio between input power and output power of 100.

 

Difference between base station & repeater?

A base station generates a signal to the mobile, while a repeater only repeats the signal from the base station.

A base station is an autonomous element that allows itself to dispose of traffic and to have a high output power.

A repeater is directly dependent on its home base station (for example regarding the capacity of traffic).

   

Difference between UMTS & 3G?

There is no difference: UMTS means « Universal Mobile Transmission System » and corresponds to the third generation mobile phone standard, known as 3G. This third generation can carry information at a rate of up to 2Mbit.

 

What is the difference between GSM, GPRS &EDGE?

GSM is the second-generation mobile telephony, limited to relatively low flow rates (9.6 Kbps). This technology has evolved to increase the flow, and two solutions can be implemented to increase this flow:

 

GPRS is a technology that realizes a group within the GSM frame by merging time-slots and thus allows better matching of data to GSM. GPRS allows introducing an Internet Protocol (IP) within the GSM system, and allows a transmission speed of 115 Kbit/s.

EDGE is a technology that represents an improvement in base stations by increasing the spectral efficiency (from a 4-state modulation type GMSK to 8PSK), a timeslot on the capacity from 9.6 Kbit/s to 48Kbit/s or 60Kbit/s in good radio conditions. The baseband filtering is linearized, which means that the 8PSK "fit" in the mask of GSM spectrum.

By combining these two technologies, one can in theory reach speeds of 500Kbits/s, but in practice, 3G networks are there to ensure the highest flow rates.

GPRS and EDGE with higher data rates than GSM and less than UMTS are sometimes called 2G ½.

   

Page 1 of 2

Foire aux questions (FAQ)

Comment calcule t-on l’affaiblissement d’espace libre ?

L'Affaiblissement d'Espace Libre (AEL) est l'affaiblisement subit par un signal radio électrique durant sa transmission dans l'air.

Il se calcule simplement à partir de la formule suivante :

  • AEL = 32,44 + 20*log(F) + 20*log(d)
  • Où AEL est en dB, F en MHz, et d en km
 

Différence entre dBm et dB ?

Le dBm est unité de puissance absolue (0 dBm=1mW), alors que le dB exprime un rapport entre deux puissances : on peut par exemple dire que la puissance d'un amplificateur est de 47dBm (soit 50W), ce qui est une valeur absolue, alors que si l'on parle de son gain qui est de 20 dB par exemple, cela correspond à un rapport entre la puissance d'entrée et la puissance de sortie de 100.

 

Différence entre la station de base et le répéteur ?

Une station de base génère un signal vers les mobiles, alors qu'un répéteur ne fait que répéter le signal émis par la station de base.
Une station de base est un élément autonome permettant à lui seul d'écouler du traffic et d'avoir une pouiissnac de sortie importante.
Un répéteur est directemunt tributaire de sa station debase de rattachement (par exemple en ce qui concerne la capacité de traffic)

   

Différence entre UMTS et 3G ?

Il n' en a pas : UMTS signifie Universal Mobile Transmission System et il correspond à la troisième génération de standard de téléphonie mobile, appelé aussi 3G. Cette troisième génération permet de transporter des informations à un débit pouvant aller jusqu'à 2Mbit/s.

 

GSM, GPRS, EDGE, quelle est la différence ?

Le GSM correspond à la téléphonie mobile de deuxième génération, limitée à des débits relativement faibles (9,6Kbit/s). Cette technologie a évolué pour augmenter le débit, et deux solutions peuvent être mises en œuvre pour augmenter ce débit :
Le GPRS est une technologie qui réalise un regroupement au sein de la trame GSM en fusionnant des time-slots et permet ainsi une meilleure adaptation des données au GSM. Le GPRS permet d'introduire un protocole internet (IP) au sein du système GSM, et permettre une vitesse de transmission de 115 kbit /s.
EDGE est une technologie qui correspond à une amélioration au niveau des stations de base par augmentation de l'efficacité spectrale (passage d'une modulation 4 états de type GMSK à 8PSK), la capacité sur 1 timeslot passe de 9,6 kbit/s à 48kbit/s voire 60 kbit/s dans de bonnes conditions radio. Le filtrage en bande de base est linéarisé, ce qui signifie que le 8PSK « rentre » dans le masque d'un spectre GSM.
En combinant ces deux technologies, on peut théoriquement arriver à des débits de 500Kbit/s, mais dans la pratique, les réseaux 3G sont là pour assurer les débits les plus importants.
Le GPRS et l'EDGE possédant des débits supérieurs au GSM et inférieur à l'UMTS sont parfois appelés réseau 2G ½

   

Page 1 sur 2